The former residence of the bishops of Kraków and now home to the National Museum in Kielce is the most valuable architectural monument in the Holy Cross Mountains Geopark. It is one of the finest and best-preserved residences from the Vasa period. Located in the historical part of the town, the palace features original interiors from the 17th and 18th centuries with unique elements of architectural design. The residential and guest suites display handicrafts of the highest European class. The exhibition is complemented by 17th-century French, Italian and Polish paintings. On the western side of the palace, a Renaissance garden was recreated in 2003, alluding to Italian models, and it has been made available to visitors. It is worth mentioning that in the northern wing of the palace, in 1816 on the initiative of rev. Stanisław Staszic, the first Polish technical academy, the Mining Academy, was established, and the then Central Mining Directorate had its headquarters in the main building.
Picturesquely situated on the top of a high hill is the Church of St. Charles Borromeo, with the buildings of the former Bernardian monastery. It is one of the most beautiful places in the city.
The temple, founded in 1622 by bishop Marcin Szyszkowski as a token of gratitude to Providence for saving Kielce from the plague, is a real gem for geotourism enthusiasts. In it we can find: a statue of St. Barbara carved in galena, floors and altars made of Bolechowice limestone inlaid with różanka zelejowska, precious candlesticks made of Zygmunt conglomerate and stairs and portals made of multi-coloured varieties of Triassic sandstone.